Tags

, , ,

I have meant to review this dictionary ever since I bought in June 2010. (I bought this on the first day in Korea!!) I’m glad Jeannie reminded me of it when she spotted this in the picture of the previous post ^^

As the title suggests, it is a grammar dictionary of Korean as a foreign language. I won’t really say it is meant for foreigners since the entire book is written in Korean. But it is a very very good resource to have for advanced learners. As usual, scroll to the bottom of the post for a summary if you don’t want to listen to the long-winded me! ^^

If I’m not wrong, there are a few grammar dictionaries/guidebooks written in English but none that I’ve seen so far is as comprehensive and detailed as those written in Korean. It’s a all-in-one book, so you just have to search the index for the grammar point you are looking for. No more flipping through various textbooks and wondering where you have learnt that grammar construction.

This dictionary is meant to complement your textbooks and I would not advise anyone to learn the grammar straight from the dictionary. Just like you won’t learn new vocabulary from a dictionary… (:
The explanations given here are much more detailed as they include a breakdown of the grammar construction.

Eg. -(으)로 해서 is 조사 -로 + 동사 하다 + 연결어미 -여서


This is then followed by its meaning and several examples to illustrate its uses. What I really like about this is how they are additional notes for certain grammatical constructions. In these notes, they sometimes compare similar grammatical constructions, but highlighting the differences in the uses/nuances.

The dictionary did fail me a few times but I would say it’s a very comprehensive and detailed collection of the grammar constructions of Korean. ^^ There is a section in front that gives some background details on the Korean language and other useful information. I have yet to read it (ㅠㅠ) but here’s a pretty useful piece of information! It is a table that tells you when to use the sino-korean numbers and when to use the native numbers!

My not very successful attempt at arty photography

Good points

  • Much more detailed than grammar explanations found in textbooks etc
  • loads of examples with additional notes on certain grammar points

To be improved

  • the index is a little annoying to use and it’s sometimes hard to find what you want at a glance
  • failed me on a few instances (LOL)
