Tags

, , ,

If you are in Korea and speak some Korean, do try to order 배달 (home delivery). And please order Korean / Chinese food at Korean restaurants, what’s the fun of ordering Macs in Korea? ^^

I think many of us who watch Korean dramas are very fascinated by the awesome service of Korean food delivery. They seem to deliver anything, anywhere and at all times. Especially if you come from a country where there’s no such service (besides macdonalds..)

It’s an awesome experience, and take it as a chance to practice Korean.

For the first timers, get all the information in your head or on a piece of paper before you call.

Most places will give out pamphlets or brochures to their delivery area, but if you don’t have anything, check the web for places near you.

1. Call and ask if they deliver to your place.

2. Order your food

3. They usually repeat your order and your address

4. Wait for your food!

Saying the address is usually the tricky part for us foreigners. All the numbers and street names can sound simliar. Practice a few times before you call.

Tip: If you are unsure about your Korean, please try to order at off-peak hours on your first time. The ajummas who answer the calls usually sound like they can’t wait to answer the next call during peak hours

I love to order Chinese food from Korean restuarants (one of my fav is 자장면). It’s such a typical delivery food.

The ajusshi usually comes within 30 min (for my place at least) and the carries with him the metal box (like the dramas!) where he opens it and takes out my order.

They usually accept cash and it’s nice if you get the exact for them or at least not a big note.

Yes, they came all the way when I just order a 탕짜면 (탕수욕 + 짜장면) for 7,000won. I have a feeling they will just come even if I order a 짜장면 at 4500won but I decide not test them. xD (there is no minimum order in most places, but I still feel bad…)
 
The portion is humungous! And I’m a huge eater…
 
The bowl is nicely wrapped and the food piping hot (even in winter!).
 
In case you are interested in what is written on the chopsticks: 맛있게 드시고 부자되세요! (eat deliciously and become a tycoon!) ㅋㅋㅋㅋ
 
The food usually come with a plastic bag (behind bowl in picture). The plastic bag is for you to dump everything in (including the bowl and leftover food). Tie it up and leave it outside your door. After a while (I checked 2 hours later), the bag is miraculously gone! Efficient.
 
I always wonder what happens if I refuse to return them their bowl…. ^^
 
I wish Singapore has such a delivery service too :D I don’t order pizza often in Singapore, but I usually find that the pizza comes lukewarm and limp. But delivered pizza in Korea tastes and looks just as good as if you order them in the restaurant!
 
How is it like in your country? ^^
 
I’m tempted to order 순두부찌개 next time. I seriously wonder how they deliver that!
 

 

 

